Wonderment In Action


Hello Friends and Welcome Visitors,

Everyday you have a gift. A new 24 hours to create your own experience. You have all the tools you need to color your day with wonderment. Your gift includes sight, sound, taste, smell, and touch. What will you create? You run. You hurry to get there. Don’t be late. A job to do. Bills to pay. Food to prepare. Errands to run. Tend to this. Tend to that. Then night comes. Your day has ended. You’ve spent your gift. Did you create time for wonderment?

“The real voyage of discovery consists of not in seeking new landscapes, but in having new eyes” ~   Marcel Proust

Yesterday was a holiday. I took my cup of coffee out on my back patio. I spied a bird in the oak tree. He whistled. Then I whistled. Then he whistled. And I whistled. He said it was a beautiful day with the sun coming up. I told him I was happy to share the morning with him. That’s wonderment.

I looked up to the sky billowing with white clouds between the sun’s rays. An old man with a white beard sat atop the fluffy mass, and a sparkling flower bloomed. That’s wonderment.

I went to the grocery store and ran my cart up and down the aisles. I picked up an apple. A bright red color. I rubbed its smooth skin. I put it to my nose and inhaled its sweet aroma. I saw a woman looking for a greeting card. She didn’t need the walker she had last week. The clerk smiled when I called her by name. That’s wonderment.

I went to a birthday party for my niece and me. I’d wrapped her gift in lavender paper. She wrapped mine the same. We laughed at our coincidence? I savored the coconut cake that melted in my mouth and the almonds that crunched between my teeth. That’s wonderment.

.

.

I heard some talk of politics and problems to be solved. But I heard joy in laughter and felt love in all the hugs. A soft blanket covered the living room floor where my niece’s grandbaby explored her array of toys. My brother played the piano, and she waved her arms to the music. That’s wonderment.

As my eyes took in her world, a poem went through my mind. I watched her playing all alone. Such a little sweetheart, 8 months old.

A little beauty to behold.

Her eyes alive with new delight.

Pure wonderment on her happy face.

Outstretched arms in sweet embrace.

My heart longed to be where she was then.

Oh, if we could but keep those moments in life.

And return to that sweet paradise.

“Wonder is music heard in the heart, is voiceless”.   Rosemary Dobson

 

What do you find at the end of your day? Are you tired? Does your body ache? Is joy in your heart, or just glad it’s over? You have the power to create your music on your self-help road to freedom. The day is your gift, and you experience what you choose to create.

Do what you need to do, but open your eyes to the wonderment that’s there if you choose to see it. You are beautiful. Make each day as beautiful as you are. Look in the mirror and see the wonderment of you. What a blessing you are. That’s wonderment.
.
May your life be filled with Wonder …

 

Much Happiness & Blessings All,
*Marilyn*
http://www.amazon.com/Silent-Echoes-Marilyn-Fowler/dp/1432749498

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Wonderment In Action

  1. Nearing the end of my long life, still in excellent health, I write because I am a writer. A writer is one who cannot not write.
    That being said, long ago I learned the secret for my own happiness.
    Have a goal.
    When you reach that goal, have another goal.
    Fro me, it is that simple.

    Like

    • Hi Lynraa, Thank you for your comment. Your message is so true. “A writer is one who cannot not write.” Writing is what gives my life meaning, and I cannot not do it. In fact I’m planning to do my next post on what gives our life meaning. Your message has such wisdom. Our goals do keep us going. Thank you again for being there. Blessings to you.

      Like

"Leave a Reply I'm Here to Help"

