Are You Following Your PASSION?


Hello & Welcome Friends, Readers, and Visitors,


.

.

Are You Following Your Passion?

“There is no passion to be found in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living.”
~ Nelson Mandela ~

 One meaning of passion is to have a strong liking or desire for something.

Passions create personal meaning and satisfaction in life, and add to our purpose for being. We all have those passions, especially during childhood. But in adulthood some of those deep desires, our inner dreams, get lost in the daily muck of activity.

When I was a child, I loved to write poetry. But then I grew up, got married, had children, a career, then…then. What happened? Like many of you I got busy and tucked my passion for writing away somewhere. But I’m one of the lucky ones. When I retired, I remembered it, and I began following the passion I’d left in my childhood. And I’ve just completed my second book, Me And Granmama in The Hill Country in southern dialect, with a video on You Tube reciting the first chapter in costume.
.
Today I’d like to present an excerpt from my Granmama book as narrated by the oldest child, Marilee.

When Mama left, she didn’t say goodbye. She coulda left a note. I was seven years old, and I could read. But she didn’t. Just packed up all her stuff and left fore dawn. I always fixed the toast while she cooked our breakfast, but that mornin I didn’t smell no bacon fryin or coffee perkin. I jumped out of bed and ran through every room in the house lookin everywheres for her, but there was just bare closets and quiet empty places where she used to be.

       I remember my little five-year old brother, Bo, and my little three-year old sister, Janie, sittin on the front steps in our night clothes, holdin hands and wonderin which way Mama went and if she’d ever come back. Didn’t matter though. She was plumb gone, and there weren’t nobody to take care of us. I felt like I were sittin on the edge of a cliff, and somebody pushed me over the side. But there weren’t no place to land.

       I don’t know how long we sat there just starin down the road past the mulberry trees. We was too choked up to say anythin. But time I figured we oughta head for Granmama’s house, there she come runnin up the road waving her arms in the air. “Oh, Lord. Oh, Lord,” she were yellin. “You younguns all right?”

      “We’re okay, Granmama,” I yelled back. “But our Mama’s gone.”

She sat down side us and hugged us close. “I know,” she said. “She come by and said she were leavin for good. Couldn’t change her mind. But don’t you fret none. I’ll raise you up, and your Granpapa will help too. Now let’s get ya’ll dressed and go home for breakfast.”

       Walkin down the road to Granmama’s house that mornin weren’t like no other time I went there. The azaleas was still in full bloom, and the birds was singin and talkin in the sunshine. But weren’t nothin beautiful. My eyes glanced back at our house, and I swallowed the screams in my throat. How could she go off and leave us? How could she…? Weren’t no use. I pushed my hurtin feelins down deep, and squeezed Granmama’s hand tighter.

Make visible what, without you, might perhaps never have been seen.”
~ Robert Bresson ~

What’s your passion?
Is there something deep inside that you’ve always wanted to do, but something holds you back? Maybe time, commitments, etc? Are you afraid to even address it, thinking you don’t have what is takes or it wouldn’t amount to anything of value? Or are you even aware of what you might be passionate about, as yet undiscovered? Look for answers to these questions to discover and clarify.

.

.

How To Fill Your PASSION …

Julia Child has a good way to begin. She says, “Find something you’re passionate about, and keep tremendously interested in it.”

List what it would take to fulfill your passion. ie, Create time; Address self-confidence, value, meaning, fear and financial needs.

Write affirmations several times each day to promote confidence.
ie, The time I need is there and I can find it; what I want is extremely valuable and meaningful in my life; I am capable of more than I think, and I am fearless; I am prosperous; I can do this, and I will do it now. If you have financial needs, start out slow, and find ways to move up.

Believe in yourself, and as you gain confidence, go ahead and do what your heart desires. You can make it so. Now.

“I see your Passions expressed gloriously in you Life” …

Much Happiness and be Blessed my Friends,

*Marilyn*
http://www.amazon.com/Silent-Echoes-Marilyn-Fowler/dp/1432749498

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

"Leave a Reply I'm Here to Help"

