Do You See Your Rainbow? It’s There.


Walk on a rainbow trail; walk on a trail of song, and all about you will be beauty. There is a way out of every dark mist, over a rainbow trail.  ~ Anonymous ~

I’m 10 years old on a school trip, mesmerized by a sight so beautiful my breath escapes me. Thousands of tulips. Michigan tulips. As far as I can see they stretch across a field before me, and fill my eyes with brilliant color beneath a soft blue sky above. Their colors form a rainbow in my mind. Yellow, red, purple, pink, orange, white, all swaying in the warm breeze while the springtime sun sparkles on their petals. I hold my chest and sway with them, overcome with awe at a sight I only dreamed of in my story books. For a while, this incredible sight replaces the loneliness I feel at home. It’s nobody’s fault at home. That’s just the way it is.
.
This beautiful panorama of color taught me something I’ve carried with me my whole life. No matter what pain we encounter on our journey, there is always a rainbow somewhere. There have been times when I looked around at my life and saw nothing but dregs of what might have been. Boulders that looked too big to overcome. Doors closed to me forever. Hills too steep to climb. But my mind held the picture of the tulips, and I found my tulip rainbow’s message of hope, guidance, and promise for my life. And I picked myself up and moved on.

Do you remember an experience in your life, perhaps in childhood, when you felt deep inside an awesome sense of being—that you mattered? It may have been an insignificant event to others, but for you it deeply touched your heart, and it’s still with you. Mine was my tulips. What was yours?

When life throws you a curve, and you think you can’t get up, you may not see a rainbow.  But the rainbow is always there. Maybe it’s just behind the clouds you see in your life, or between rain stops when they fall, or in birds talking to each other early in the morning, or in a child’s smile. You may have to get on a bus and take a field trip in your mind to find it. But it’s there.

We may run, walk, stumble, drive or fly, but let us never lose sight of the reason for the journey, or miss a chance to see a rainbow on the way.”
~ Gloria Gaither ~

 

We’re all on our journey through life, and sometimes that journey gets rough. But the rainbow tells us there’s hope. Re-experiencing your memory with feeling is what creates your rainbow of hope, or whatever a rainbow means to you. When you find some kind of pain in your life, bring up your memory and picture a rainbow in your mind. And claim that rainbow as yours for the hope, and peace you want. If you don’t have such a memory, imagination is a gift we receive when we’re born, and you can create anything you want with this gift. Work the process, and know your rainbow is already there. You just have to claim it.
.

“Be thou the rainbow to the storms of life, the evening beam that smiles the clouds away, and tints tomorrow with prophetic ray.”
~ Byron, The Bride of Abydos ~

.
Life has a way of putting the difficult stuff right in our face, while the good stuff remains illusive. Maybe that’s what teaches us how to be more alert and careful where we apply our attention. Rainbows are all around you. You have to know that. You have to believe that. And open your eyes and your heart to look past the darkness and find them.

I wish you clear vision along your path .  .  .

Lifestyle Blogs
submit a blog

Author, Marilyn Fowler
http://www.amazon.com/Granmama-Hill-Country-Marilyn-Fowler/dp/B00QFUJPX2

 

 

 

"Leave a Reply I'm Here to Help"

