Self-Image And Your Light Within.


We move so quickly through life today, time for ‘self‘ is disappearing. And it’s easy to forget who we are. If someone asked you to describe your self-image, what would you say? Would your answer be swift and firm? Or would you spend time groping for an answer? And would your answer be based upon others opinions of you? You may be surprised at what you’d find if you took a closer look inside.

We are gifted in a unique and important way. It is our privilege and our adventure to discover our own special light.   ~Mary Dunbar

Yes, you’re unique, different, special, an adventure to be explored, with a light within of which you may not be aware. Oh, you may have heard of that light, but how often have you recognized it? This light longs for awareness and expression in your life. And it comes through a self-image based not on lies about you, but on the truth of who and what you are.

Negative childhood messages give a false self-image–I can’t, I mess everything up, I’m homely, I’m not worth much, etc. And we go through life revealing our weaknesses and denying our strengths. How can we see our light with eyes blinded by lies?

I wish I could show you, when you are lonely or in darkness, the astonishing light of your own being.  ~Hafiz

I had a friend whose negative self-image was not true, but she’d never searched for anything else. When I gave her my impression with a dozen wonderful qualities I saw in her, tears filled her eyes. She said, “No one ever told me that, and I never saw it. Is it really true?” I convinced her to observe herself and take note of each time she expressed her strong points. She amazed herself with each discovery, and her wonderful self became real to her. Over time, she learned to let her light shine, even in her own eyes.

The first step in self-discovery is awareness. How can we grow if we’re not aware of what we’re working with in the first place? When I was a child I watched my brother put together model airplanes. First he laid out all the pieces on the table, and carefully identified each one. He was grateful for those ready to use pieces, and happily worked on others that needed sanding down and rough edges smoothed out. No piece was more important than the other. He needed all of them to create a plane that would fly. And if we’re to fly, we need to search inside the box, see all the pieces, and work with them without judgment.

When you live from your heart and your self-image involves more of your true self, your light will shine brighter in your life and in the lives of others. What do you see when you smile and say hello to a stranger? How do you feel when you complete a task with love? And what do you hear when you ask yourself if your life has meaning? If you don’t get a positive response to such questions, take a closer look inside and discover ‘more‘ of wonderful you–and believe you are wonderful.

Explore inside and identify all the pieces. Keep the qualities you want–work on releasing what no longer serves you in a positive way–and watch your self-image change as you accept and reject. Your true self is already there. It just takes some searching and fine tuning to bring it into the light. And your light is testimony to who you are.

There is power in the words “I am.” If you say I am sick enough times, you will be sick. If you say I am poor enough times, you will be poor. Whatever you claim with “I am” will be yours. Say no to the lies, and start claiming your kindness, wisdom, compassion, peace, joy, creativity, all those qualities you were born with as the special entity you are. And allow them to shine in your light.


I wish you joy as you express light in your life . . .

Author, Marilyn Fowler

Product DetailsProduct Details
(click to purchase my books on Amazon)

2 thoughts on “Self-Image And Your Light Within.

"Leave a Reply I'm Here to Help"

