A Blissful Escape With The Critters And Lessons Learned.


Hello Friends and Visitors. Welcome!
.

.

It’s a beautiful spring day. Bright sunshine, warm breezes, the kind of day that makes you want to throw away your to-do list and just ‘be’ for a while. I spent most of this day running errands and being very dedicated to accomplishing all those absolutely necessary chores that must never be ignored lest I drown in a sea of unmet responsibility. But that had to end.

“Seek to follow your own inner guidance and in doing so, you will bless all of life.” ~Mashubi Rochell

I was faithful and put in my time until I remembered ‘me’ and realized I needed a respite to save my sanity. As for my to-do list, what I didn’t finish today could wait until tomorrow. I put my list away and went out onto my front porch to one of my very favorite pastimes…watching all kinds of critters on their daily run gathering food for their families. In the past, I’ve learned much from them.

I sat there quietly breathing in the warm air and feeling my body giving up its pent up stress while I checked out each critter pursuing its chosen route to fulfill its to-do list. I figured they must have one…in their head, of course. Their method of functioning is fascinating. They’re very clever and extremely motivated. And I suppose they find some rest time once they get home and the family meal ends.

When I’m engrossed watching them, my own problems disappear, and I feel like I’m on their journey with them. Today reminded me of a poem I wrote years ago imagining what their life might be like and what we can learn from them. I’d like to share this poem with you.

 
The Critters
When the rain has come and gone,
And earth smells clean again,
I watch the critters creeping out,
Their journeys to begin.
 
A spider weaving in and out.
A baby lizard sleek and green.
A squirrel to check on friends.
An earthworm joins the scene.
 
They have no fear of what’s ahead
To follow plans they’ve made.
They just enjoy the moment now
In step with their parade.
 
They appear to hear a voice within
That guides them on their way.
No thought of hesitation.
Just greet another day.
 
It seems they have a knowing
We wish more clear to us,
That God has made a way for them, 
Without the need to fuss.
 
So maybe we can take a lesson
From those we seldom see,
Who seem to have a greater faith

 Than folks like you and me.

.

.

The real voyage of discovery consists not in seeking new lands, but in seeing with new eyes.”  ~Marcel Proust

Whether we realize it or not, everything we experience, positive or negative, registers somewhere in our mind and affects our quality of life. Everyday we’re presented with opportunities to learn and grow from our experiences, and nature holds many lessons for us if we open our eyes with new vision. Nature is everywhere…even large cities have parks and nature walks, access to plants, animals, birds, bees, crawly critters…even cockroaches. Have you ever watched how clever a cockroach is? You gotta be fast to get one. It you think about it, isn’t there a lesson in that?

Your conscious awareness is a valuable tool for growth. And when you incorporate all living things in that awareness, you allow your own life to expand and be enriched. Look for the wonderful gifts nature offers. Smile at a yellow tulip blooming in the sun, whistle with a bird saying good morning, wink back to a little lizard when it winks at you. Life is beautiful…and so are you.

I wish you many happy hours learning from nature.

Marilyn Fowler, Author & Writer
‘Silent Echoes’

Product Details

One thought on “A Blissful Escape With The Critters And Lessons Learned.

  1. I was there with you on the veranda, Marilyn. This reminds me of the William Henry Davies poem…
    What is this life if, full of care,
    We have no time to stand and stare…
    I’m off to sit for a moment in the garden. It is a 27c day here in Melbourne, Australia, and the swing seat is calling my name.
    Good luck with your book – I love memoir!

    Liked by 1 person

"Leave a Reply I'm Here to Help"

