Just For FUN.


“Every action in our lives touches on some chord that will vibrate in eternity.”  ~Edwin Hubbel Chapin

Some people work at jobs they don’t like; others find work they enjoy; and some express a hobby in their work making every day a special pleasure. Either way, it helps to have something to get excited about. And what a blessing for those who can maintain happy work and play.

Years ago when my son and daughter-in-law’s bicycle shop became too demanding, they sold it and went into other careers they enjoyed. But they clung to their love of bikes, and over the years they’ve biked all over their state, up into Canada, and on camping trips. Now they’re retired and back into the bike business. My daughter-in-law finds used bikes, and my son repairs them. Then they sell the bikes from their garage or rented booths downtown in flea markets.

I’ve had some happy work and some not so happy. But since childhood I’ve clung to my love of writing. And today I’d like to share a shortened whimsical story I created. Enjoy…just for fun.

Tandemonium
     “Take your hands off me, you brute,” Rosie demanded. “Bert, help me.”
     “What can I do?” Bert yelled. “He’s got me too.”
     A tall man with muscles like footballs hoisted Rosie and Bert up the side of a truck and threw them flying over onto the middle of a trash heap. When the truck took off, their chains rattled with every bump in the road.

     “We’ve been kidnapped,” Rosie screamed. “How can we get out of this, Bert?”
     “Hang on, Babe. Let’s see where we’re going, and look for a way out.”
     Rosie trembled with fear, and couldn’t keep her chassis still. She’d never been so shook up. “What’s he gonna do with us, Bert?:

     “Probably what everybody else did with us our whole life–get rid of us.”
     “That’s not true. Remember that nice couple we met a couple years ago? We had a good time with them before they moved to Wyoming and had to leave us.”
     “I’m glad they left. I didn’t like the way that dude looked you over, checked out your rear end and everything. Yeah.”

     “He was just curious. Don’t let things like that get to you. I don’t think…”
     “Whoa, Babe. We’re slowing down.” Bert strained to see ahead. “Oh, no. It’s that salvage dump around the bend. Now we’re doomed.”

     Rosie and Bert braced their bodies as the truck turned into a long driveway and parked. When the driver pushed a button, one end of the truck bed rose up, and the whole load clanged and banged to the ground, rattling in all directions. Rosie looked around and cried, “Now my seat is full of dirt. It’s bad enough being kidnapped and stripped of all decency, but to see my rump like this is too much.”

     Bert ignored her complaints when he saw the truck pull away. “Never mind that now. It looks like we’ve been spared, for a while anyway.”
     They huddled together, unsure of their next move, when they heard thunder overhead. Rosie panicked again. “Oh, Bert. What if it rains? I’ll get soaked like last year. Remember what a mess that was?”

     Bert grinned. “I sure do, Babe. I kinda liked you that way.”
     Before Rosie could answer, they heard a car pull into the area, and a young couple got out. They wandered from one pile of trash to the other, and ended up in front of Rosie and Bert. “Honey,” the woman said. “This is perfect. Not much fixing up to do.”
     The man walked around and took a better look. “Well, I thought we’d look for two, but yeah, this will do fine. Won’t take much to make it look like new, and it might be fun riding together on a tandem bike.”
     Rosie squealed. “Bert, we’re saved. We’re saved. They want us. Oh, I know they’ll take good care of us.”
   
Bert smiled and whispered. “Take is easy, Babe. Don’t look too anxious.”
                                                                       THE END.  .  .


.

“You don’t need a reason for doing everything in your life. Do it because you want to. Because it’s fun. Because it makes you happy.”  ~Unknown

Maybe you can’t incorporate a hobby in your work, but you can find expression in your life for something you love, and create a necessary balance. We all have a talent, a yearning, a fire inside. But we get lost in daily activities and push it aside. Don’t let your fire die. It’s an important part of who you are. Let all of you shine through, and make it fun.
I wish you many happy days being you.

Marilyn Fowler. Author/Writer

*My Books on Amazon ~ Just Click Them!*

Product DetailsProduct Details

"Leave a Reply I'm Here to Help"

