The Healing Power Of Music!


Music is the voice that tells us that the human race is greater than it knows.” ~Napoleon Bonaparte

Healing music fills our world and runs through our lives every day. But we’re so busy we miss the beauty that comes with meaningful music that touches our heart and really makes a difference in our daily life. And health issues, anxiety, and depression either take us down or run beneath the surface hidden from the world as we struggle to function.

A few years ago, I developed a chronic health challenge that kept me wired up, and I was in a constant state of anxiety and depression. Then I discovered two sources of healing music. And oh, what glorious sounds.

Image result for copyright free images Steven Halpern

Stephen Halpern’s incredible music is like nothing you’ve ever heard. He uses music for healing, without continuous rhythm or recognizable melodies. And it draws you into a natural state of harmony and balance. When I sat quietly and listened to Halpern’s Chakra Suite, I was embraced in the quiet relaxation and peace I longed for. This music touched my soul and helped me through a difficult time.

Then there was Il Volo, three amazing young men who brought their glorious music and Italian voices to the world. I didn’t understand the Italian words in most of their songs, but their voices spoke to me about life. And their expression touched my heart with the realization that we humans are blessed with the beauty we’re not even aware of. As I listened, I felt alive. And my life was meaningful.

But as time passed and I felt good again, I forgot and drifted away from my daily music routine. And fatigue, anxiety, and depression crept back in. So I’ve returned to Halpern and Il Volo. Perhaps my angels are teaching me a new lesson because listening to Halpern and Il Volo now, I’ve become aware of other voices in the world, the ones we don’t hear as music. But sometimes that music we don’t hear can fill our hearts with joy and heal our deepest pain if we listen to its songs.


“If the sight of blue skies fills you with joy, if the simplest things of nature have a message that you understand, rejoice for your soul is alive.”  ~Eleanor Duse

That healing music is all around us; a song in the wind blowing through trees, waves hitting notes against the shore, bees humming around a flower or children’s laughter. Now I even whistle with birds in my back yard. Yes, really. It’s all music. And our most important song is inside of us. We all have our own voice, the unique way we express ourself. And we have the power to choose our songs.

In the grocery store, one of the clerks always smiles, asks how I’m doing today, and if I want paper or plastic. She sings the same words every day, and the title of her song is, “I care about you.” I know this because I feel her caring voice expressing the words. (Some really do care) My niece sings with smiles from her wheelchair, and I know writers who put their songs on paper. Ah, the music.

Michael Jackson said, “To live is to be musical, starting with the blood dancing in your veins. Everything living has a rhythm. Do you feel your music?” It can lower your stress level, help heal your body, and lift your unhappy soul to new levels of peace and balance.

Each day listen to the music your world has for you and express your own music to others. You have the voice within you to choose your song. Sing it to the world. There IS healing and happiness in sharing the music.

I wish you songs to sing and joy to share.

Marilyn Fowler, Author/Writer

"Leave a Reply I'm Here to Help"

